Torn apart church makes beautiful music…mmmm

When I started this musical journey, I never imagined the amount of focus and energy I would give to it, especially due to adding this accountability of blogging. I never imagined it would open up such personal insight. I knew re-opening my vocal cords and re-teaching myself the vocal techniques I had learned during my time in formal education, would be much like dusting off a fine painting, fit with Goddy frame. Crevises so deep that some of the dust would never come out, but instead of ruining the piece, it simply enhanced it. I knew it would be a long physical and emotional path. Still, I sit here and shake my head at the recent events and how it has all unfolded.

At a non-profit show to help children, I was asked to be the featured vocalist. I love children, so that was an easy committment. I walked threw the doors of the church, which had been rented for the special event, and noticed the warning tape across what looked to be the sanctuary doors. I have to admit, some funny thoughts and jokes popped into my mind instantly. Quickly after though, I wondered why the construction tape was drapped across the doors. I tabled the curiosity and moved ahead to the task ahead.

At the non-profit show, I had a wonderful time, met stunning people and enjoyed pushing myself to sing one of my original songs that is very dear to my soul.  There were too many beautiful moments to type out, but all I can say is I am so glad I stepped out and did something for others…I mean really, when does that usually go bad? Maybe if you do it too much or try to take on too much too quickly, I suppose. This was just enough of an out of my comfort dynamic mixed with security. People cried from the impact they felt from the songs and the lovely pianist was magnificent, per her usual.

Then the abandoned sanctuary came back to mind. You see, earlier the pianist and I snuck into the sanctuary because she was told there were pianos in there among the construction rubble where we could practice. Well, we are both pretty curious Sprites, so investigate we simply HAD TO! We removed the yellow barriers and cracked open the door to reveal an amazing sight. The warm toned sunlight streamed in from the tinted windows, tools and wires tossed about and in the middle of it all, sat two large items covered by blue furniture blankets. They were baby grand pianos! Our heads swung from right to left and up and down trying to visually take in the construction scene. I was instantly became very intrigued by my pianists response to the room. Our heads bobbed from side to side,  but her countenance was that of a fuller connection. She looked like she was watching memories fly in front of her eyes. I listened to her say the words, “This was my old church…this is the place I grew up in.” I said nothing as she walked over to the covered pianos and pulled back the blanket. It was a beautiful medium colored wood. Then she said, “and this was my first piano.” Even now, I am appreciative and privileged to be apart of that moment.

She pulled back the covering to reveal the keys of her old love and began to play. My entire chest cavity awoke with the grand sound that was produced! The room seemed to fill with a musical mix of colors; deep purple-blues. I listened and glazed across the room, then thought of how appropriate this was for the both of us. Where we were in our individual lives and where we’d both come from. Instantly, I want to record her playing her old piano, in the middle of the wreck of carpet, nails and wood. She is rather logical by nature, so for this moment to happen was fantastic and compelled me to capture it. At that, I stood back and joined in with song.

Later that night, I brought the conversation of the recording idea up to see how we could make it happen. I was too excited for words and with every moment became more excited when I saw others get behind the idea.

Through a series of amazing events and availability of others, we returned the next morning to record. This time, we had a professional photographer, video cameras and audio recording capturing our organic creativity. We didn’t talk about what to wear or any details of even what to play…we just wanted to be there in that short moment before the construction continued the next Monday and we would be cut-off from this place of transition. Even now I feel emotion…no matter what is restructuring is taking place around us, we can find rest in restlessness and beauty in the rebuilding.

 It’s funny how things work out and fall into place sometimes. 

As an old author friend of mine used to say, “build on your rubble.” I’d like to add….and build with your rubble wherever you can.

One thought on “Torn apart church makes beautiful music…mmmm

  1. […] Local church musicians/choirs are talking about ideas. (What’s happened) […]

Leave a Reply

